Wonder (R. J. Palacio) – Simply Wonderful!

Just yesterday, I read Wonder by Raquel J Palacio (which, by the way had to be wrested away from my mothers hands. Often happens in our home). And, boy, am I glad I did.

Yes,  I read it in one shot, although I had to put the book down for a few minutes in the middle, because it was so overwhelming.

Wonder is a heart-wrenching, emotional and -best of all-  very realistic story

It is the story of the fifth-grader August Pullman, who suffers from mandibulofacial dysostosis -which is a rare genetic malfunction which causes facial deformity.

As a middle schooler, I can make out the standard stereotypes of middle school..  the stares, the smirking, the mean glances and whispers,  the popular groups and the wannabees, the unnecessary hostility, misunderstandings with friends and those few true friends that make the journey easier. So with a face like August, it can be only a million times worse.

No, I’m not giving out any spoilers. At least, not without a warning.

My favorite part of the book is how R. J. Palacio gives us a peek into each pivotal character’s mind, letting us know how they think or feel about a particular situation. It’s riveting to know how other people think about the events going on which are all related to the main character, and not just hear what the main character thinks about them himself. It brings in a wonderful rounded perspective to the book and its characters!

My favorite character is definitely Via, August’s older sister. Via, or Olivia, treasures her younger brother as it is prominent in many incidents where she gets mad when other people whisper or stare at August. Yet there are moments when she just wants to NOT be his sister.Her chapter in this book deals with her growing self-consciousness and worries about her identity. I think I find Via among my favorites because I identify with her struggles and worries that I will only be known for my brother and his trouble-causing nature.

Minor issue? I haven’t watched Star WarsDarth Sideous and Bobba Fett jokes don’t register with me. Even though it was explained, I still had to go to my brother for a second-time explanation. It’s not all bad though, because it’s time for a movie marathon!

The big problem? August can have a happy ending but seemed too nice to me.Since when has middle school ever been nice? Do bullies even change? Do the other who choose being “safe and neutral” rather than stand up for the  kid that is singled out actually have the courage to take a stand. There are some answers I will only know when I’m more mature…may be

But being inspired by August’s positively inspiring upbeat attitude, it makes me want to believe “The universe takes care of all its birds.”

More Quotes I liked..

I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”
…wish  I could orchestrate that.
“Kinder than is necessary. Because it’s not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.”
…by far the most important thing that lingers after you read this book
“If you can get through middle school without hurting anyone’s feelings, that’s really cool beans.
… same thing ..cool beans!
“I wish every day could be Halloween. We could all wear masks all the time. Then we could walk around and get to know each other before we got to see what we looked like under the masks.”
….made me think how much we make assumptions based on looks.
So yes, please do do read this book!!
Most Important: I heard Wonder is being made into a movie this year! All those who haven’t read it, your time is running out. Every voracious reader knows this, but I’ll say it again – Never judge a book by it’s movie!

 

2 thoughts on “Wonder (R. J. Palacio) – Simply Wonderful!

  1. Pingback: K  is for Kindness. – An attempt to tame the mental noise

  2. Pingback: Summer Reading Bucket List – From this Pre-Teen to Yours! | Doodles, Dreams and Musings

Leave a Reply

